Pierce Brosnan Was Approached For Batman Role But Thought It Was A Joke

image

 

Pierce Brosnan as Batman?!

The former James Bond star has admitted, in an Ask Me Anything session on Reddit, that he turned down the role of Batman in Tim Burton’s 1989 movie because he couldn’t take the character seriously.

Brosnan was asked: “You were a great Bond but I always thought you’d make for a great Batman. Were you ever approached for that role?”

He replied: “Yes, I did. I went and met with Tim Burton for the role of Batman. But I just couldn’t really take it seriously, any man who wears his underpants outside his pants just cannot be taken seriously.”

The role instead went to Michael Keaton.

Brosnan scaled the Hollywood ladder without the part of Batman anyway and was given the role of James Bond for four movies, starring in GoldenEye, Tomorrow Never Dies, The World Is Not Enough and Die Another Die, before he passed on the torch to Daniel Craig

Brosnan admitted that he does looks back with some regret for not taking the Batman role.

“That was my foolish take on it. It was a joke, I thought. But how wrong was I? Don’t get me wrong, because I love Batman, and I grew up on Batman. As a kid in Ireland, we used to get our raincoats and tie them round our neck and swing through the bicycle shed,” continued Brosnan.

Via [Reddit]

Dominique Byse | News Cult