Joe Biden’s Son, Hunter, Was Kicked Out of the Navy After Failing Cocaine Test

Screen Shot 2014-10-16 at 11.35.01 PM

Hunter Biden may not be living up to his fathers standards. According to USA Today, Hunter Biden, the son of the vice president, Joe Biden was discharged from the Navy Reserve this year after testing positive for cocaine.

In a statement released by his attorney, Hunter says:

“It was the honor of my life to serve in the U.S. Navy, and I deeply regret and am embarrassed that my actions led to my administrative discharge. I respect the Navy’s decision. With the love and support of my family, I’m moving forward.”

A U.S. official said Biden failed the test in 2013, but he was not kicked out until Feb. 14 of this year. Senior U.S. officials told NBC News that Biden, 44, tested positive for cocaine. The Wall Street Journal first reported the incident.

Biden was commissioned in the Navy Reserves in 2012 as an Ensign and was pursuing a career in public affairs. He had to get a waiver because of his age at the time of his commissioning.

[via USA Today]

