Al Walsh’s Picks for Sunday Night Football

Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 5.05.11 PM

Season Record: 17-15-2

Last Week: 4-1 (Wins: DEN, CLE, CHI, PHI – Loss: SEA)

It feels good to be back up over the .500 mark again this season. I almost had a perfect week but Dallas ruined any chance of that, and that same loss knocked me out of my suicide pool; kicks to the groin everywhere in that game. I feel confident that this week’s games will be just as solid so let’s get to the picks…

WASHINGTON -5.5 over Tennessee

I have no confidence whatsoever in the Titans right now because they haven’t showed me anything this season. The Redskins, on the other hand, at least have some firepower on offense that can push them over the top. Yes, they are 1-5 but they have played well against superior competition- PHI, SEA, ARZ. Look for DeSean Jackson and Pierre Garcon to both have big days in this one.

REDSKINS 34 Titans 24

GREEN BAY -7 over Carolina

This is my favorite play of the week- last time out the Panthers were involved in a tie, and ties are like being in the same sleeping bag as your sister. I look for Carolina to come out sluggish in this one and Aaron Rodgers has been a man amongst children of late. He’ll have a field day on this Carolina secondary.

PACKERS 34 Panthers 17

NY GIANTS +7 over Dallas

Readers will most likely file this in the “Walsh is out of his mind” category but that’s cool, I’ll show you what’s up on Sunday. Dallas just exerted a ton of energy with their monumental win in Seattle last week so I expect them to come out pretty slow in this one. On the flip side, the Giants came out flat and lifeless in Philly last week. I expect a complete 180 from both teams and the Giants to walk out of Jerry World with the W in this one.

Side note: Dallas started out the week as a -3.5 favorite; having it go up to -7 is quite fishy.

GIANTS 20 Cowboys 19

KANSAS CITY +4.5 over San Diego

The public is very high on the Chargers right now, so just like Dallas, I’m going to go the other way. Last year there was a scenario between these two that is coming back to form on Sunday. The Chargers were a +4.5 underdog heading into KC and ended up beating the Chiefs in a historic shootout. If you see where I’m going, that’s great. If not, I’m going with the Chiefs here in this one for another upset. Expect Jamal Charles to put up monster numbers in this one.

CHIEFS 27 Chargers 20

PITTSBURGH -3 over Houston

The Steelers aren’t dead yet and we’ll see some enthusiasm out of them on Sunday. Here’s another team that got throttled last week looking to get the ship back into smoother waters. Roethlisberger should put up some decent numbers against a Houston team that seems to be falling back down to earth after their hot start.

STEELERS 24 Texans 13

