Why Embracing Change is the Healthiest Option

 

It never crossed my mind, when I was younger than 20, that one day I would like to eat pickles. Their unique tart flavor was in discord with my tongue ever since I began ordering McDonald’s burgers, who brought about 3 of them as a surprise between the meat and the bun. Today I can bite into one without a furrowing of my nose, since I’ve grown to like their taste, a subtle change to my person that not many people will notice but I am fully aware of. And just like pickles, I’ve learned to love, as my tally on this planet increases, things like lyric-less songs, skinny jeans, and sex.

I began to ruminate on the amount of change I had withstood throughout my life, after my peculiar pickle revelation, and I came to a staggering conclusion which might sound obvious to some: your opinion on things and yourself evolves over time. As you gather more experiences and hopefully become wiser, your perpective on certain things shifts, giving you a fresh new look at something you were used to. Ideologies come and go, passing through your life as if your body was a train station to reality. I liked my conclusion, for it is a fact that the only constant in life is change, so welcoming new morals, values, and even foods is a natural aspect of this mortal coil.

The tricky part is realizing that having this openness to your own psyche’s evolution will do you immeasurable good. One of the biggest obstacles in achieving this epiphany, and one that I’ve seen first-hand in some people, is the fear that you will stop being true to who you are. The problem with this view is that the person then relies excessively on others’ opinions of them, instead of listening to their own voice. Don’t let others dictate who or what you are because they think they know you when in reality they know a part of you, maybe even a part that no longer exists. You are always in the process of making yourself a better, stronger person, so if that means stripping away all the qualities that made you popular in high school, then so be it.

I used to have a friend who would never go near a bottle of alcohol and would rather stay home playing video games. He had a very tight group of people who did the same things as he, but he restricted his choices a bit too much, to the point where he confided in me his loneliness and depression. When he started college, and after years of me encouraging him, he decided to open up his possibilities in terms of nighttime activity, and now he’s a much more social person. On a certain night 2 years ago, while drunk at a nightclub, he met his first girlfriend. I am not condemning either way of life, but celebrating my friend’s change and development into a different version of himself. He wanted to shake up his routine and ended up doing what he once viewed as unhealthy and inane. The important thing is that he’s happy and not ashamed of what acquaintances might say about him, despite the radical variation in his way of life.

He is only one example of how this acceptance of an often overlooked facet of human nature can be extremely helpful for the overall health of a person, but he shouldn’t be the only one. I encourage you to do the same as he did, and I hope you’ve reached a better understanding of what I mean when I say that embracing changes in ideology make us better people, whether we are the ones altering our own opinions or simply experiencing someone else’s transformation. By accepting the fact that you might become what you once thought was irrational or shameful you will free yourself of guilt, so when you are over 60 nobody will be able to call you an old-fashioned bigot.

Stefano Llinas | News Cult

