Why We Need to Stop Obsessing Over Taylor Swift’s Love Life (Or Lack Thereof)

Screen Shot 2014-10-08 at 3.16.40 PM

To many, Taylor Swift has done a complete 180 in the past year, transitioning from a former country star writing songs about her exes (Henry Styles, Jake Gyllenhaal, and John Mayer, to name a few) to an independent pop star sans boy drama.

In her latest interview with People, Taylor Swift talks about how her upcoming album, 1989, and how her iconic breakup songs are never, ever, ever going to be a crucial part of her brand new music, for now.

“When I’m deeply hurt, I usually respond by writing exactly how I feel in a song, but I just haven’t been devastated in the last couple of years,” the pop singer told People. “I made the decision to spend time on my own and figure out who I am.”

However, instead of focusing on her music career, the interview swiftly sticks to finding out more about her life as a single girl, as if wanting to stay single is an anomaly in Hollywood.

On whether she would get back into dating, she replied, “I’m not going to compromise the happiness and independence that I’ve found for just anybody. The idea of a date gives me a partial panic attack!”

Plus, she explained a date would entail “40 paparazzi cameras shooting through windows at us, and that’s not relaxing or alluring for me. That makes me want to crawl under the couch and hide!” And we can’t really blame her.

Why has it become so hard for us to accept a happy, single T. Swift? And why do we care so much?

With her album titled 1989, it reminds us that she’s only 24 and wants to act like one, without the nagging scrutiny of the media and fans. She deserves a chance at being a normal, non-judged 20-something girl, and if that means putting guys on the backburner, so be it. Even without the guy troubles, her music is still great, with her most recent single, “Shake It Off,” having nothing to do about boys but still being just as addictive and popular as her previous hits.

Since she’s not notorious for provocative behavior like Miley Cyrus or wild partying like Justin Bieber, her semi-interesting dating scene and catchy breakup songs were the only sensational things the media had on her. Now, with a clean slate and a newfound focus on her music, friends and adorable cats, the media can’t help but revert back to analyzing the remains of her past.

Just last month, she gave Rolling Stone readers an intimate glimpse into the toll the media has taken on her personal life when she admitted:

“I feel like watching my dating life has become a bit of a national pastime… I don’t like it when headlines read ‘Careful, Bro, She’ll Write a Song About You,’ because it trivializes my work. And most of all, I don’t like how all these factors add up to build the pressure so high in a new relationship that it gets snuffed out before it even has a chance to start. And so I just don’t date.”

If this vulnerable statement alone doesn’t make us want to stop pestering her about her love life, I’m not sure what will. Now that she’s happy living it up in New York City with her friends, she’s not boring – she’s refreshingly normal. Get over it.

Megan Plevy | News Cult

