Brittany Maynard Decides to Die on November 1st

Screen Shot 2014-10-08 at 11.17.18 AM

After experiencing headaches for months, Brittany Maynard was diagnosed January 1 with a brain tumor. She was at first told that she had 10 years to live, however the tumor’s rapid growth led doctors to shorten that time frame to mere months. Rather than getting down in the dumps about her pending future she decided to take charge of her own life.

Screen Shot 2014-10-08 at 11.17.46 AM

Maynard has decided that she will die on November 1. That day she selected to willingly ingest a fatal drug that will allow her to pass away peacefully. Rather than characterizing her impending act as a suicide, Maynard, 29, is claiming that this is simply the best path forward in coping with her terminal condition.

According to The Blaze, Maynard stated the following: “Because my tumor is so large, doctors prescribed full brain radiation. I read about the side effects: The hair on my scalp would have been singed off. My scalp would be left covered with first-degree burns. My quality of life, as I knew it, would be gone. After months of research, my family and I reached a heartbreaking conclusion: There is no treatment that would save my life, and the recommended treatments would have destroyed the time I had left.”

She chose November 1, as she’s hoping to celebrate her husband’s birthday one last time on October 30.

[via The Blaze]

Monica Adams | News Cult

