5 States to Remain Open to Gay Marriage, Decides Supreme Court.

Screen Shot 2014-10-06 at 12.48.51 PM

After an appeal to prohibit the occurrence of gay marriage within their borders, Indiana, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia and Wisconsin are to remain open to same-sex couples wishing to tie the knot. The decision, which was finalised on Monday, immediately removes the delays on marriages in those states. Experts had predicted that the decree was due to be announced this term.

It takes only four of the nice justices –each who have one singular vote- to bring a case to hearing, but an eventual ruling takes a standard majority of five in order for the case to proceed as requested. It has not been revealed how the Supreme Court voted exactly: only that it was a majority vote in favour of rejecting the appeal.

It is expected that six other states; Colorado, Kansas, North Carolina, South Carolina, West Virginia and Wyoming will be subject to the same decision in short order. Assuming this is the case, same-sex unions will then be legal in 30 states and the District of Columbia, equating to over half of the USA allowing gay marriage.

This recent action by the Supreme court reignites the hope that one day, gay marriage will be a nation-wide right. In the meantime, same-sex couples must be delighted by this news!

[via Huffington Post]

Matthew Tomlin | News Cult