Actor Gerard Depardieu Admits to Drinking 14 Bottles of Wine Per Day

Screen Shot 2014-09-18 at 1.09.48 PM

Everyone loves a nice glass or two of wine at the end of the day. Or maybe, if you’re Gerard Depardieu, you’re night cap consists of 14 bottles. The french actor, who previously had bypass surgery says that’s the number of bottles can drink a day. Depardieu, 65, says this doesn’t happen everyday, but most days.

“When I’m bored, I drink. Apart from occasional compulsory moments of abstinence. After undergoing bypass surgery (five times), and also because of cholesterol and stuff, I have to be careful. Anyway, I’m not going to die. Not now. I still have energy. I can’t drink like a normal person. I can absorb 12, 13, 14 bottles…per day.”

If we add that up, Depardieu may single-handedly be keeping the wine industry alive. And of course, there is a method to his madness:

“In the morning, it starts at home with Champagne or red wine before 10 a.m., then again Champagne. …Then food, accompanied by two bottles of wine. In the afternoon, Champagne, beer and more pastis at around 5 p.m., to finish off the bottle. Later on, vodka and/or whiskey.”

However, the actor does admit that from time to time, people may question his actions.

“But I’m never totally drunk, just a little (tipsy). All you need is a 10-minute nap and voilà, a slurp of rosé wine and I feel as fresh as a daisy! I have to admit that when I start counting, doctors start worrying.”

If we all went to med-school like our mothers wanted, we’d probably be concerned to.

Cheers!

[via Daily Mail]

Gayana Sark | News Cult

 

