Al Walsh’s NFL Picks for Sunday Afternoon Football

Screen Shot 2014-09-12 at 9.35.34 AM

Season Record: 4-2-2

Last night: Win – Under 44.5 (bought to 45.5) in Pittsburgh/Baltimore game

In order to comply with my co-hosts on our weekly podcast, I’ll be taking away one pick from here on out for everyone. Each week during football season on the 14A Sports Radio Show, we play NFL Pick Em’ Chug- for each incorrect pick, you have to chug a standard 12oz. Miller Lite. As 30-year olds we hear your whispers of concern- it’s immature, it’s stupid, it’s a lot of fun. However, in that competition we’re not allowed to buy points. Here, in my “weekly advice” column- I’ll still be advising you to buy points.

Last night was great, if you went with my pick of the UNDER in the Pittsburgh/Baltimore game. I didn’t see it exactly going that way, but with this lifestyle, a win is a win. I really like what I have lined up for everyone this week so gone is the Sunday Six-Pack, and I introduce to you…the Sunday Five-Pack? I’ll work on a new title, but I also welcome any suggestions that are as far away as the one I chose today. Enjoy your Sunday, everyone!

NY GIANTS +3 (buy to +3.5) over Arizona

The Giants opened up as a one-point favorite but the public saw that and jumped all over it bringing it to the current line. But how could the public think any different? The G-Men looked GOD AWFUL against Detroit on Monday night so who the hell were they to open up as the favorite?

Remember that the Cardinals played the last game of the week, a very late one at that. Now they have to come across the country for a 1:00pm game and the preparation may not be all there. Another member of their defense in John Abraham is no longer with the team as well.

I’m not in love with the Giants, but I hate the Cardinals and this line. Arizona won a game against San Diego on Monday night that they had no business winning. About 80% of the money is on the Giants, so I have to go with them in an upset.

NEW YORK FOOTBALL GIANTS – 20, ARIZONA FOOTBALL CARDINALS – 16

WASHINGTON -6 over Jacksonville

Here’s another NFC East team that looked GOD AWFUL last week but this league is all about redemption. The fact that the Redskins are favored by six points is just baiting all the Jags bandwagoners to jump on board here.

The Jags came out hot in the first half against Philly but in the second half they looked like the same ol’ Jags that played their way to high draft picks all these years. This Redskins offense is going to be explosive at some point this season, and Sunday should get them on the right track.

HAIL TO THE REDSKINS – 27 Jags 17

CINCINNATI -5 over Atlanta

In the first half against the Ravens last week, Andy Dalton led his team to five field goals. As we saw last night, Baltimore is pretty tough and Atlanta’s defense will not be stopping Cincy to that tune this week. 80% of the money is on Atlanta in this one and I’m not sure why. This is a much different team away from home, particularly outside and AJ Green is primed for some big numbers in this one. The Bengals are my most confident play this week.

BENGALS 41 Falcons 21 

CLEVELAND +6.5 (buy to +7) over New Orleans

Yet another Ohio team and yet another week that I’ll take Cleveland. Just as it is with Atlanta coming to Cincy, you have another team that plays exceedingly well in the dome coming outside into the elements. I don’t know what the hell happened to this Cleveland defense in the first half last week but they came out like I knew they would in the second half and covered the spread.

I love Cleveland’s defensive personnel and think that they can match up with just about anyone in the league. I’ll give New Orleans the win in this one but it’s not going to be easy for Brees and company. 90% of the money is on the Saints and that is a recipe for disaster.

Saints 20 BROWNS 17

TAMPA BAY -6 over St. Louis

My beloved Bucs dropped the opener against Carolina in a game they didn’t show up to until the fourth quarter. So they couldn’t possibly stink up the joint for a consecutive week at home, could they? Hell to the no!

The Rams have 99 problems and their offensive is number one. Last week against the Vikings they looked as dysfunctional as it gets. I don’t see anything changing in those terms and then to add on to that, the team announced that one of its big guns on defense, Chris Long, will be out for two months- that’s a big blow emotionally for this team.

BUCCANEERS 24 Rams 10

Alan Walsh | News Cult

