106 & Park Going on a ‘Planned’ Hiatus

Screen Shot 2014-08-27 at 4.09.44 PM

BET’s live music countdown show, 106&Park, has been facing some serious heat over the past few days. Most of the criticism has been directed towards Karrueche Tran who guest hosted on the show for a couple of days. The star, who is currently in a relationship with Chris Brown, made a comment that upset Beyonce’s entire fan base.

Tran and her cohost did a segment on the show entitled “The top 6 things Blue Ivy thought about the VMAs”. Tran had the honors of listing number 6, “I really did wake up like this because my parents didn’t comb my hair.” After the joke was a complete bomb, she followed up with “I’m sorry Blue, I love you.”

Beyonce’ fans did not appreciate Tran’s comment one bit. Fans took to social media to slam Karrueche with comments ranging from mean, hateful to extremely inappropriate.

The young model also went to twitter to clear up the situation. “Now y’all know I LOVE me some Beyoncé and Blue Ivy! I didn’t write this script y’all lol.” “I am definitely team #BeyHive.”

It might’ve been planned, but not long after the Karrueche drama BET released a statement to XXL Magazine that they plan to be off air for the rest of the week. They did not confirm whether the hiatus was related to the Blue Ivy drama or not.

BET President of Music and Programming, Stephen Hill, issued a public apology regarding the situation on twitter. The 106&Park producer has also been suspended as a result.

No word yet if Karrueche will be returning to the show.

The moral of the story, don’t mess with Blue or Beyonce’.

Tatiana Pile | News Cult

