USC Football Senior Leads On and Off The Field

Screen Shot 2014-08-26 at 2.50.22 PM

This past weekend, Josh Shaw, senior cornerback for the University of Southern California (USC) Trojans was recognized as a team captain at the annual Salute to Troy dinner. To continue his celebration, he attended a family event that was held at his cousin’s apartment when he noticed his 7 year old nephew fall into the pool.

Without hesitation, Shaw jumped from the second story balcony, landing feet first onto the concrete, and crawled the rest of the way to rescue his nephew. The young boy was not physically harmed, but was said to be traumatized by the event. His uncle on the other hand was taken to the hospital and is being treated for two sprained ankles. Although Shaw’s football career is now on hold he released a statement stating that he would do it again.

“I would do it again for whoever kid it was, it did not have to be my nephew,” Shaw said today. “My ankles really hurt, but I am lucky to be surrounded by the best trainers and doctors in the world. I am taking my rehab one day at a time, and I hope to be back on the field as soon as possible.”
Akeera Weathers | News Cult
